Bud Metheny Award Recipients

1978 Dave Rosenfield: General Manager, Norfolk Tides, Clinic Co-Founder
1979 George Kotarides: President, Milton's Pizza
1980 Ed Nagourney: Rices Nachman Dept. Store
1981 Bud Metheny: Former ODU Baseball Coach
1982 George McClelland: Former Executive Sports Editor - The Virginian Pilot
1983 Charlie Sugg: Real Estate Assessor, City of Norfolk
1984 Don Fett: President, Waymar, Inc.
1985 Clyde McCullough: Former Major League Scout
1986 Abe Goldblatt: Sports Writer, The Virginia Pilot / Ledger Star
1987 Richard J. Davis: President, Tidewater Professional Sports, Inc.
1988 Harry Postove: Major League Scout
1989 Hank Foiles: Foiles Insurance, Former Major League Scout
1990 Lewis D. Hirschler: Hofheimer's Inc.
1991 Richard Alexander: Umpire
1992 Bob Rathbun: Former Sports Anchor, WTKR-TV, WTAR Radio
1993 Sandra Picken: Founder of the Peninsula Muscular Dystrophy Benefit Tournament
1994 John T. Callahan: Former President of Tidewater Baseball League
1995 Gary Wright: Tidewater Summer League and AAU Baseball
1996 Paul Fraim: Mayor of Norfolk
1997 Roy L. Burton, Jr.:  Founder of Willard-Lakewood Athletics Assoc. & Granby Booster Club
1998 Paul Vestal: President Greenbrier Athletic Association
1999 Ken Young: President, Norfolk Tides Baseball Team
2000 Lester Bangs: Local Baseball Scout
2001 Warren Spivey: President Spivey Rentals
2002 Bill Swann: Virginia Wesleyan Head Coach and Assistant Coach at Old Dominion
2003 Tim Miller: Chairman ACS Systems & Engineering
2004 Luke Newman: President of Greenwich Kitchens Center
2005 Pat Baker: Local Dentist
2006 Tony Zontini: Coach / Teacher
2007 Towny Townsend: Coach / Teacher
2008 Henry Morgan: Peninsula Businessman / Peninsula Pilots Owner
2009 Jake Hardison: Challenger Little League Baseball
2010 Ed Fraim: ODU Fundraiser
2011 Wayne Gomes: Major Leaguer
2012 Tim Druzgala: Businessman
2013 Clyde “Ducky” Davis: Umpire / Scout
2014 Barry Kornblau: Business Owner & Alumnus
2015 Hervey Trimyer: Past Board Member of ODAF and the ODU Dugout Club
2016 Norbie Wilson: First Colonial High School Head Coach
2017 Tony Guzzo: Former Old Dominion Head Coach
2018 Wiley Lee: Former Old Dominion Player / Great Bridge High School Head Coach
2019 Marty Miller: Norfolk State Athletic Director / Former NSU Head Coach and All-American
2020 Billy Swoope: Norfolk Catholic High School Graduate / Former Los Angeles Dodger / Chicago Cubs Scout
2022 Paul Shows: Local baseball coach
2023 Matt Sinnen: Founder of Tidewater Drillers