All Sports Schedule

Chaunce Jenkins Named Second Team All-Sun Belt Conference


NEW ORLEANS – The Sun Belt Conference announced its Men's Basketball Postseason Awards on Monday afternoon and Old Dominion junior Chaunce Jenkins was named to the second team All-Conference squad.
This marks the second year in a row Jenkins was named to the All-Conference teams as he was a third team selection in 2023.
A Newport News, Va. native, Jenkins leads the Monarchs in scoring (16.2 ppg), in assists (79), 3-pointers made (46), field goals made (162), free throws made (117) and attempted (161). He had 10 games of 20 or more points, including a career-high 27 at Arkansas State. Jenkins scored 21 points with seven rebounds at Arkansas and had 24 points at Coastal Carolina and at Georgia Southern.
He dished out four or more assists in eight games, topped by a season high six against Georgia Southern at home. Jenkins set a career high with four blocked shots in a home win over Radford.
In the league, he was fourth in scoring and 11th in field goal percentage. During conference play, he was fourth in scoring and 13th in field goal percentage.
Old Dominion opens Sun Belt Conference Tournament play on Tuesday night at 8:30 pm EST against Texas State. The game can be seen on ESPN+ and can be heard on the ODU Sports Radio Network starting at 8 p.m. with the pre-game show.
2023-24 Sun Belt Conference Men's Basketball Postseason Awards
Player of the Year
Terrence Edwards Jr., James Madison
Defensive Player of the Year
Justin Abson, App State
Newcomer of the Year
T.J. Bickerstaff, James Madison
Freshman of the Year
Miles Rigsby, Troy
Sixth Man of the Year
Tayton Conerway, Troy
Joe Gottfried Coach of the Year
Dustin Kerns, App State
All-Sun Belt First Team
Terrence Edwards Jr., James Madison
Christyon Eugene, Troy
Caleb Fields, Arkansas State
Donovan Gregory, App State
Tre'Von Spillers, App State
All-Sun Belt Second Team
T.J. Bickerstaff, James Madison
Austin Crowley, Southern Miss
Chaunce Jenkins, Old Dominion
Kobe Julien, Louisiana
Tyren Moore, Georgia Southern
All-Sun Belt Third Team
John Ojiako, Coastal Carolina
Joe Charles, Louisiana
Noah Freidel, James Madison
Terence Harcum, App State
Hosana Kitenge, Louisiana
Nika Metskhvarishvili, ULM
Taryn Todd, Arkansas State
Ties were not broken.